New Compilation CD: The Sound of UK Funky

this story
Ministry Of Sound - The Sound Of UK Funky

Monday 6th July sees Ministry Of Sound release the next in their “The Sound Of” series. Last summer it was bassline that took the limelight with 2 volumes of anthems, new music and fantastic download bundles deals for the DJ’s!

Fresh for summer 2009 the series continues with “The Sound Of UK Funky”.

Keep reading for the more info including the tracklisting!

Ministry of Sound have brought together the UK Funky “A Team” to mix their debut compilation in the world of UK Funky. Footloose, Pioneer and Supa D are among the founding DJ’s of UK Funky and collectively they represent three of the major players when it comes to UK Funky on radio; 1xtra, Kiss and Rinse FM respectively.

This CD is an excellent first foray from Ministry into the ever increasingly popular UK Funky scene. The 63 track, 3 CD compilation covers a large number of the anthems that have spawned from this relatively young scene aswell as including plenty of brand new music.


01. Donae’o – Party Hard (Full Vocal)
02. DJ Naughty – Quicktime
03. Paleface Feat. Kyla – Do You Mind (Crazy Cousinz Remix)
04. ENUR Feat. Natasja – Calabria 2007 (Club Mix)
05. Ultra Nate – Love’s The Only Drug (Original Mix)
06. Paleface – Run Away (Original Mix)
07. Aaron Carl – Oasis (Nick Holder Vocal Mix)
08. Altered Natives – Rass Out
09. Steve Angello & Laidback Luke Feat. Robin S – Show Me Love (Geeneus Mix)
10. Geeneus & Zinc Feat. Nikki – Emotions (VIP Mix)
11. Hardhouse Banton – Sirens
12. Kele Le Roc – So Good (My Love) (Diamond Remix)
13. DJ Naughty – Trouble’s Back
14. Nick Holder – Erotic Illusions (Triple T OV Mix)
15. Trackheadz Feat. Zaki – Feel (Vocal Mix)
16. Karizma – Twyst This
17. Hardhouse Banton – Reign
18. Courtney Dennie – Signed & Sealed
19. FunkyStepz – Sounds In Moruga
20. Diamond Feat. Sophia Romain – Fly Away


01. ATKM (All The Kings Men) Feat. Leo The Lion – Call My Lions
02. Donae’o – Devil In A Blue Dress (Vocal Mix)
03. Geeneus feat. Katy B – As I
04. Crazy Cousinz Feat. MC Versatile – Funky Anthem
05. Kid Cudi Vs Crookers – Day ‘N’ Nite (Crazy Cousinz Remix)
06. Lil Silva – Different
07. Karizma – Darqness (Tru Remix)
08. Brasstooth – Celebrate Life (Footloose Remix)
09. Delio D’Cruz Vs KCAT – Get Off The Wall (Delio D’Cruz Remix)
10. Blackhouse Project – Come Dancin’
11. Blackcoffee Feat. Bucie – Turn Me On (Original Mix)
12. DJ Footloose Feat. Courtney Dennie – So Dangerous (M. Sadler Remix)
13. Footsteps Feat. A.L – Tell Me
14. Bizzi – Bizzi’s Party (Soulful House Mix)
15. Marco Del Horno Feat. Katie Leone – Never Gonna Let You Go
16. N.B Funky – Riddim Box (Sami Sanchez Mix)
17. Miss Fire Feat. Van Cleef – Lost In Your House
18. DJ Q Feat. Natz – Yours
19. Footloose Feat. Simone – Just Leave (Original Footlocker Full Vocal Mix)
20. Rebecca Knight – Guilty Secret (Sunday Showers)
21. TJ Cases Feat. Yvonne – Fragile


01. Apple – Chantes
01. Mood II Swing – Can’t Get Away (Acapella)
02. Fr3e – Tribal Skank (Vocal Mix)
03. D-Malice – Gabrielle (Bootleg Mix)
04. Perempay & Dee Feat. Katie Pearl – In The Air
05. Undisputed – Sunglasses
06. Perempay & Dee – Buss It
07. DJ MA1 Feat. Sophia – I’m Right Here (DJ Naughty Remix)
08. Crazy Cousinz – Inflation
09. DVA Feat. Alahna – I’m Leaving (MA1 Remix)
10. Geeneus – Yellowtail (Original Mix)
11. Crazy Cousinz Feat. Kimona – I See You
12. Mista Bee – Amazon’s Night
13. Princess Nyah – Frontline
14. Apple – Goy Goy Cowbell
15. Donae’o – African Warrior
16. Funkystepz – Trinity Hill
17. L.A. Cartier – Call Me
18. Bakongo – Bambara
19. Barber Bizzle Feat. Miss Fire – Do You Feel The Same
20. Fuzzy Logik – The Way You Move
21. Nat-Mor – I Feel

The Sound Of UK Funky is available to pre-order now at Ministry of Sound, but we recommend the DJ’s reading this to hold out till the 6th of July when we expect it to be available in a download bundle with the 3 mixes and each individual track, which provides excellent value and a healthy boost to your UK Funky CD wallet/Serato crate coming in at just under £10.


  • Alexander [Visitor]
    July 16, 2009 | Permalink | Reply

    Wicked release! Can anyone tell me if it’s available for download already (and if so, where)? Thanks ūüôā

  • August 7, 2009 | Permalink | Reply

    not wicked (( absolutely

  • Becky [Visitor]
    October 29, 2009 | Permalink | Reply

    I love ” I Feel” By Nat * Mor does any one what other tunes she/they have!!

Leave a comment

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Your email is never shared. Required fields are marked *