Monthly Archives: June 2011

The Sound of UK Garage

“2011 is the year for the UKG comeback.” That’s what we’ve been told since January. Depending on who you ask, you may here that this year has arguably been one of the best years for UK garage post 2003.

Ministry of Sound has decided to re-enforce this consensus with the release of 2 CD / digital compilation The Sound of UK Garage.

Mixed by Ministry’s last internal UKG Pioneer – FiSKiN – The Sound of UK Garage is jam packed with track, including 20 exclusive tracks.

CD 1 takes us on a vocal journey with tunes from Sunship, MJ Cole, Wideboys, The Mike Delinquent Project, Control-S, and Y-Tribe to name a few.

CD 2 takes it deeper and darker with more eclectic, diverse tunes bring new producers of the Future Garage era to the mainstream with tunes from Submerse, CJ Reign, Para and Redlight, alongside brand new beats from veterans such as Club Asylum, Dem 2 & Todd Edwards.

The whole compilation threw the SnF Forum regulars, who were expecting another CD filled with rinsed UKG classic a lá the dry remains of the Pure Garage series. Surprise was felt all round as the general feeling was of a well compiled, thought out album showcasing the best of past and present.

In a shock to the long term UKG nerd-dedicates, this release puts out tunes that were never before available, including the sought after Karl Tuff Enuff Brown / Todd Edwards / Kele Le Roc collaboration – Roll With It, and Delinquent’s remix of the Doneao classic Falling

The Sound of UK Garage is out on the 27h June 2011 in CD and Digital format. The digital release also comes as unmixed MP3s. WInner!

The Sound Of UK Garage – Win a copy!

We’ve got 3 copies to give away to lucky readers of SnF. All you have to do is drop an email to with the subject “I Want New UK Garage”, or reply to this thread on the SnF forum to go into the hat.

Entries must be received by 11:59PM on Saturday 25th June 2011, with the winners announced on Sunday.

Good luck!

The Sound of UK Garage Megamix